If you are considering a career in real estate, it is important to know what the requirements are for becoming licensed in Phoenix AZ. The Arizona Department of Real Estate regulates and licenses all real estate brokers and agents. This department also examines applicants for licensing exams, administers the exam, awards licenses to those who pass the examination, and enforces laws governing real estate practices. Below are the steps you have to take when trying to obtain a real estate license in Phoenix AZ, those are:
You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a real estate license in Phoenix AZ. Also, you cannot have any felony convictions on your record as they will prevent you from being qualified for a real estate license in the state of Arizona.
Complete 90 hours of “in-classroom” or online Real Estate Salesperson pre-licensing education at an approved Arizona real estate school and pass the examination at an ADRE-approved real estate school, college, or university. You must also attend a 6-hour Contract Writing class approved by the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Fingerprint Clearance Card – Fingerprint Clearance Cards (FCC) are issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS). The application packet may be obtained from DPS, or the pre-license real estate schools. The process for obtaining the Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as eight to ten weeks.
Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244) – Information and documentation relating to the applicant’s background must be provided upon application for licensure. Date of birth and Social Security Number are required. Criminal convictions and background disclosure on the Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244), found at www.azre.gov or in the Candidate Handbook, must be completed by all applicants, and depending on disclosures made, additional documents and information may be required. The Department CANNOT issue a license to a person convicted of a felony who is incarcerated, paroled or under community supervision or on probation. The Department may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony, or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as (but not limited to) theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude. A Fingerprint Clearance Card (FCC) issued by DPS is required by all applicants at time of application.
Disclosure Document Checklist (LI-400) – When applying for an original license and disclosing a criminal conviction, adverse civil judgment, or denial of or discipline against a professional or occupational license on the Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400), additional documents and information identified on must be provided. Forms are available on the ADRE website www.azre.gov, under Forms Library and included in the Candidate Handbook.
Salesperson License application must occur within 1 year from the date of passing the state examination, or the state exam must be retaken and passing score reports presented. Submitting an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the one-year period will require a retake and passing of the examination.
If you have any questions about the process of acquiring an Arizona Real Estate License or need to talk with someone who is familiar with the process please feel free to contact The KP Elite Team for assistance and guidance.